top of page

Match Report - Bryan Cullen tournament 2022

Bryan Cullen Tournament 2022

(Brendan Mooney)

Skerries Harps proudly hosted the Bryan Cullen Football Tournament 2022 on Saturday 27th August. After a two-year hiatus due to covid, the competition for the Oliver Moore Memorial Cup & Shield recommenced on a fine sunny day in Skerries. Teams from the premier leagues of Dublin and Tipperary contested affairs resulting with a fine win for the hosts in front of a vociferous home crowd.

The day commenced with an official welcome to the visiting teams of Clonmel Commercials, Cuala & Thomas Davis which included team photos with Bryan Cullen. A minute’s silence for recently bereaved members was observed, followed by a rendition of Amhrán na bhFiann.

Main Pitch, Game 1:

The hosts had a kind draw and were fixed to play both round robin games on the main pitch beginning with Cuala of Dalkey. The south county men flew out of the traps quickly knocking over 4 points without reply. The seasiders registered on 14 mins and quickly followed up with another 3 to ensure parity at half time. Skerries continued where they left off in the 2nd half moving the ball so incisively the visitors couldn’t cope and ran out convincing winners on a 2-10 to 0-7 scoreline with fine goals scored from incisive Harps attacks.

Harps Scorers: Joe Delaney 1-4, Matthew Weldon 1-2, Patrick Kelly, Sean Mooney, Kyle Groothius, Dara Twomey, 0-1.

Townparks Pitch, Game 1: Clonmel Commercials 1-9 Thomas Davis 0-8

Main Pitch, Game 2:

Thomas Davis were next up, an old foe and perennial winners at the very top tier of Dublin football at this age group. The opening 6 minutes saw no less than 4 goals shared in an open flowing contest visibly enthralling the now-burgeoning crowd. However, the green flag would not be witnessed for the remainder of the match as Skerries piled on the pressure to finish the half 4 points to the good. The Tallaght men would register just a single point in the second half as the seasiders produced their best football of the day retaining possession and picking off some fine scores from play to win comfortably on a score line of 2-10 to 2-03.

Harps Scorers: Patrick Kelly 1-3, Joe Delaney 1-2, Jeff Sexton, Alex Renaud, Matthew Weldon, Sean Mooney, Adam Keating 0-1.

Townparks Pitch, Game 2: Clonmel Commercials 0-10 Cuala 3-9

Main Pitch, Game 3: (Oliver Moore Memorial Cup Final)

The final saw Skerries Harps face Cuala again by virtue of Cuala beating Clonmel Commercials on a scoreline of 3-09 to 0-10 in the head to head at Townparks. The Harps started strongly registering the first white flag and Cuala replied to level scores on consecutive occasions. Some neat passing moves and direct running saw Skerries move 4 points in front approaching the break, however a long ball into the Cuala full forward saw the ball clinically dispatched leaving the minimum between the sides at the break 0-7 to 1-03. A point for both sides kept the nerves jangling before another incisive run saw a foul in the box and a penalty to the Harps which was decisively dispatched to the Cuala net. The southsiders rallied again in the closing stages reducing the deficit to 2 points but the Harps held on comfortably to claim the club’s first Oliver Moore Cup, 1-08 to 1-06.

Harps Scorers: Joe Delaney 1-3, Patrick Kelly 0-2, Matthew Weldon, Pearse Mooney, Luke Ryan, 0-1.

Townparks Pitch, Game 3 (Shield Final): Clonmel Commercials 0-9 Thomas Davis 1-8

A huge effort was put in to ensure the day ran smoothly with a special word of thanks to the following groups for invaluable assistance in making the tournament a great success on the day:

• The Tournament organising committee

• The Moore & Cullen families

• U17 Parents (providing both food, time & effort on the day)

• Skerries Harps for facilitating the games & visitors

• The Pitch Committee and groundsmen

• Juvenile Teams and mentors for moving home games

• Skerries Harps volunteers throughout the day

Skerries Harps Matchday Squad:

James Courell, Alex Renaud, Moses O’Brien, Kyle Groothius, Luke Ryan, Sean Price, Jonny Dunne, Oisin Quinn, Joseph Delaney, Jeff Sexton, Matthew Weldon, Pearse Mooney, Seán Mooney, Adam Keating, Patrick Kelly, Dara Twomey, Rossa Gilbride, Finn Lehane, Ryan McGeehan, Liam Johnston, Oisin Woodcock, Harry Cole.

Thanks to the Sponsors of the day: Moriarty's SuperValu, Skerries

Lough & Kee

Masita Ireland

Kyles Barbers

128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page